Greg “Craola” Simkins

4 Oct

Location: Torrance,CA

Website: imscared.com

Describe Your Creative Space:

It is a 1200 sq.foot warehouse with office and loft. It’s a nice home for spiders and crickets and making paintings.

How Long Have You Been There?

I have been in this spot about a year

Oils Or Acrylics?

Acrylics

Painting is a lonely job, do you listen to music or watch movies while you paint?

I listen to music, podcasts, audio books and occasionally movies. My buddy Jeff Page just gave me the audio book for Watership Down so I am on my third time through listening to it.

Where do you find your inspiration?

So many places. These days from sitting at the park on cloudy days with my kid and interpreting what we see in the cloud. Animal Planet, Nat Geo, and Discovery Chanel is another big one for me these days. Those Planet Earth movies are awesome!

Is there an artist you think more people should know about?

Gosh, there are so many great artists I could mention, but people already know about them: Alex Pardee, Bob Dob, Gunnar, Adam Hathorn, KMNDZ, Lola, Dabs and Myla, Nathan Ota, Joe Capobianco, Eric Merrill, Matthew Bone, Mia Araujo.. I could go on for while, but you asked for one so I choose the genre of film, Stephen Reedy.

What are you working on right now?

I am working on pieces for my November 5th Solo Show at Gallery 1988 in Los Angeles entitled “Story Teller”. I am currently working on a large piece called “Little Dreaming Knight” and is loosely based on those park outings with my boy.

Leave a Reply

