Misha

12 Oct

Location: Los Angeles, CA

Website: misha-art.com/

Tell me about your “Creative Space”

My studio is in the second bedroom of my apartment. I share the space with my husband who uses it as an office. I know many artists prefer to have their studio separate from home but I prefer to have a home studio. I paint in the studio, but most of my prep drawings and layout are done in my living room while I watch TV.

What is a normal day like for you?

That depends on whether it’s a tattoo day or a studio day, Like most artists I don’t have days off.. on A tattoo day I get up and have a nice long walk to the bus stop to get to the tattoo shop. I like taking the bus because I really hate driving. At the shop I do a combo of consultations and tattoos over the next 8 hours.. then home to work on freelance design work or prep for paintings..

On a studio day I get up  make my tea and get into my painting clothes.. I have a whole drawer for clothing that has paint all over it. I find it funny when I see  an artist who paints in nice clothes. The front of some of my painting pants can practically stand on their own with all the paint on them. After breakfast I ‘ll  I like to get at least 8 hours of painting in and if I am in the mood 12 hours. I listen to Audio books while I paint.

Did you go to school to learn to paint or self taught?

I took art classes in college, but most of what I do now is self taught. I learn alot from watching other artists. I love to got to live painting events so I can see how other artists work. I pick up techniques and new tools to use.

You are also an amazing tattoo artist. How is tattooing different from painting?

There are many differences but the biggest difference is that a painting doesn’t move, bleed or care what I put on it.

Oils Or Acrylics?

Acrylics,  I can’t even be in a room where some one is painting with oils, the fumes give me headaches and nausea. I also like the quick drying of acrylics, it would drive me nuts to wait for oils to dry.

It’s no secret that you are a big video game geek. What are your favorite video games?

I love cute kiddie games. My favorites are Animal Crossing, My Simms and Super Swing Golf.

There’s also a big Japanese influence in your work, are you a big anime fan? If so, what are your favorites?

I love Anime and own quite a few shows and films on DVD. MY very favorite is Spirited Away but I love all Studio Ghibli films. I also own all the Ghost in the shell films and both series.

What are you working on now?

Just finishing up 10 pieces for the Sanrio 50th anniversary. I love Sanrio and Hello Kitty.

Lightning Round :

PS3 or XBox360

Neither… Wii

Where was your first tattoo?

A lizard on my shoulder

Mario Or Sonic The Hedghog?

Mario

Artist people should know?

Greg “Craola” Simkins he inspires me.

One Response to “Misha”

  1. how to get over an ex November 2, 2010 at 5:20 pm #

    Some loosers just don’t realize, like my friend who couldn’t understand the real meaning of this line on your article “… was your first tattoo… A lizard on my shoulderMario Or Sonic The Hedghog… MarioArtist people should know……” it causes me to look brighter after learning it.

Leave a Reply

