Johnny “KMNDZ” Rodriguez

5 Nov

Location: Pomona, CA.

Website: kmndz.com

Tell me about your “Creative Space”.

I use up the entire house… back yard and garage for larger pieces, back room for small drawings, and living room for normal size paintings. Don’t know If I can pull off a studio… If I did it would pull me away from the kidos

What is a typical day like for KMNDZ?

Monkeys to school, work, BJJ, home to paint for an hr… and on the weekends its paint till I pass out

Is there a time of day that you feel more creative then others?

Not really, I feel it coming out 24/7… I do however like to paint  from 12 to four in the am

Did you go to school for art or are you self taught?

Self taught. I tried going to school but had always felt that I was killing time being there. Designing or painting isn’t rocket science, If you have the passion and the ideals you can bust out some sick work.  Its the patience and perseverance in doing it thats tough to learn. I’m getting there and feel I’m a ways a way from being where I’d like to be.

Oils Or Acrylics?

Acrylics… its fast and simple…

Besides painting, you also work a full time day job as a designer and have a family?. How do you balance the three??

I don’t party or hang out with the homies and I don’t know if I would call what I do balance. At the end of the day something suffers.

What are you working on now?

Working in a solo show up at fifty24 SF in April… Stoked to get the space to my self… dropping something new

3 Responses to “Johnny “KMNDZ” Rodriguez”

  1. johnny #2 November 5, 2010 at 10:54 pm #

    woohoo! man..you look the same haha. 😉

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. KMNDZ on Creative Spaces | FIFTY24SF | Art, Gallery, San Francisco, Contemporary Art Space, Upper Playground - December 9, 2010

    […] A peak into our April 2011’s exhibiting artist’s Creative Space […]

  2. KMNDZ · Johnny "KMNDZ" Rodriguez - December 28, 2010

    […] My Homie Kevin hooked up a photo shoot for his Creative Spaces project… Check It […]

Leave a Reply

