Luke Chueh

13 Dec

Location: Alhambra, CA.

Website: http://www.LukeChueh.com

Tell me about your “Creative Space”

Originally, my “creative space” was a tool shed the original owners of our house had built. I lovingly referred to it as my “Shedio”. Sweltering hot in the summer and freezing cold in the winter, the Shedio was recently replaced with “Shedio V.2 / Studio 1”. I still like to refer to the space as my “Shedio”, but really it’s more like a studio, complete with AC, insulation, lighting, etc.

You started out as a graphic designer, how did you make the transition to full time artist?

Like you mention, my original career was that of graphic designer, and I will be the first to tell you how essential and indispensable that degree has been for me. Thanks to my design background, I’ve been able to retain complete control over my promotional materials, from printed matter to multimedia (website, online banners, etc.). As for my transformation to full-time painter, I have the Cannibal Flower art shows and the job market to thank for that. I originally moved to Los Angeles with the intention of pursuing my design career. However, the market for designers was dry. Some friends turned me on to Cannibal Flower whom I started showing with. It was through Cannibal Flower I had my first art sale. Months of priceless conversations with LC, Cannibal Flowers founder and curator helped me formulate my “Plan of Attack” and things just picked up from there.

Oils or Acrylics?

Acrylics. I started using acrylic in college and just kind of stuck with them since.

Your paintings show both humor, but also social commentary, how do you find that balance between both in one image.

I’m not really sure “how” I find the balance you’re referring to, but feel very lucky to have the skills to pull it off.

One of my favorite paintings is “My Ball and Chain”. Do you feel pressure to stick to paintings of animals?

Yes, and no. There is a certain pressure attached to maintaining my current style, but nothing has really stopped me from changing things. Actually, my upcoming show, “Contemptorary Art” (February 2011) is my second attempt to really changing things around. The first being my visual interpretation of Dante Aligheri’s Masterpiece, “Inferno”‘ which I showed in 2009.

Last Movie You Watched?

Scott Pilgrim vs. The World

Mac Or PC?

Mac!

Your favorite iPhone App?

Netflix, Yelp, Maps (not in this order)

Coke or Pepsi?

Pepsi

What are you working on now?

As I mentioned, I’m currently working on my upcoming solo show for Corey Helford Galley, “Contemptorary Art”. The show not only features paintings, but sculptures, inflatables, and more. I’m also working on my third release with Munky King (I’m not going to get into any of that right now). Kii Arens’ is designing my book, “Igneus Gero”, compiling my first 7 years as a painter,, while I am working on a book of my paintings and sketches from my “Inferno” show. And that’s just about it.

Artists people should know about?

Far to many to mention, but I’ll try: Takashi Murakami, Gary Baseman, Yoshitomo Nara, Mark Ryden, Chiho Aoshima, Tim Biskup, Seonna Hong, Mr., Camille Rose Garcia, Anthony Ausgang, Greg “Craola” Simkins, Audrey Kawasaki, Travis Louis, Lola, Robert Williams, Todd Schorr, Ron English, Joe Sorren, Yoskay Yamamoto, Nate Frizzell, Coop, Shag, Deth P. Sun, Marcel Dzama, Natalia Fabia, Brendan Monroe, Barbara Kruger, Francisco Goya, Salvador Dali, … God, there are so many more. But this is a good starting place.

One Response to “Luke Chueh”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Luke Chueh's pieces from "Playboy Redux II" exibit ..dopeness | - December 30, 2010

    […] Interview Via Creative Spaces Tell me about your “Creative Space” […]

Leave a Reply

