Brian K Vaughan

31 Mar

 

Brian K Vaughan

Location: Los Angeles, CA

Website: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Brian_K._Vaughan

Tell me about your “Creative Space”

I’m fortunate enough to work in a really nice home office somewhere in Los Angeles.  I love a big desk.

What is your typical day like?

Between kids and comics and Hollywood stuff, there’s really no such thing as a typical day anymore.  I just try to write as much as I can whenever I can.

Where does your creativity come from?

L.A. Department of Water?  I get most of my ideas in the shower, anyway.

Is there a time of day that you feel more creative then others?

Yeah, nothing is better than getting to write after midnight.

What is your writing process like? Do you just sit in front of the computer and start typing dialog?

No, I spend as little time in front of a computer as possible.  Writing for me is mostly a lot of long walks and procrastination, followed by some general scribbling into a notepad.  I try to make the story work in my head from beginning to end before I ever start typing.

Is there one story that you’ve written that you feel is your best work?

Nah, I like them all equally, but THE ESCAPISTS is one book of mine I wish more people had discovered.

The concept to Y The Last Man is rather unique, where did the idea come from?

I’m not sure, to be honest, but the seed was probably planted when I was attending an all-boys Catholic high school.  I would occasionally act in plays for our all-female sister school, which was a thrilling, terrifying, eye-opening experience for a sheltered young guy.  I guess that’s where Yorick was born.

I was a big fan of Runaways, another completely unique idea. Would you ever return to those characters?

Thank you!  Never say never, but at the moment, I’m really concentrating on making new things.  I do miss those kids though.

Now that Ex Machina is over, what do you have planned next?

More comics, more movies, more television, more babies.  Sorry for the wait; I’m gestating as fast I can.

One Response to “Brian K Vaughan”

  1. tharagao July 1, 2011 at 10:31 pm #

    I think I could never create in a empty desk like this (and keep organized? impossible to me! haha)

Leave a Reply

